It’s not swagger, I’m just sore…

photo (5)

Ouch.

So as you know from Monday’s post, work out’s have turned up a notch. Talk about being sore. And teaching on top of it feels GLORIOUS. Uh huh, sure.

When goals are on your mind you just ignore it all and push as hard as you can. Even though you have a marathon to run, the finish line doesn’t seem terribly far away. So you push hard, push through and that next 24-48 hour burn SUCKS.
You don’t want to laugh (hello ab work out) or sneeze (yep there’s that ab work out again). Scratching your back sucks (thank you chest and back day) and your legs give you that “pimp walk” that you really don’t mean to be doing (leg day – whoever feels fine after leg day is either a Superman or didn’t do it right).

Yesterday, I was in a monster of a mood because every body part hurt so much. Seriously. I didn’t want to get up from my desk at work to pee or to get stuff from the printer (that is like 2 feet away…hello lazy). Yesterday was also the first time that I was nervous to teach. I never get nervous, the only time was my very first Zumba class by myself. Being nervous because your afraid if you go down you might not get up is funny and at the same time is nerve wrecking. SO I was scheduled to sub a Zumba class and then teach XXX (Hip Hop) immediately after. Being so sore and pulling a muscle a few days before I was actually not positive about teaching. The day before I had a discussion with a friend on wanting to get my stamina back where it was so I was even more determined. First class I went in tired and not wanting to move but within the first 10 minutes of being there those awesome students pumped me up. Class was killer, we all were drenched just the way I like it. Between changing sweat drenched – looking like I just got outta the shower clothes between classes it was time to get pumped all over again. We were down a couple of instructors and the three of us KILLED it. I was seriously so proud of us.
Needless to say after class feeling so accomplished all I wanted was to take out the weave and shower. That studio smelled like 4 football teams just came in after playing a game in 100 degree weather. Gross.
I did fine until I got out of the car when I got home. I got out of the car waddling like a 9 month pregnant woman and decided maybe it was time to take a bath. A friend told me to do it with Epsom salt. I definitely, definitely suggest it. It relaxed my muscles and everything for a bit.

photo (4)

As I woke up today still sore as a mo-fo, my first thought was “Holy shit, I underestimated myself” I think we do that a lot. Doubting ourselves when we are under the weather or unbelievably sore, or in that negative spot. But once you have accomplished it, it feels amaze-balls.

photo (6)

So to end my post today I’ll leave you with one of my fav. quotes ever. Sometimes I think it during a work out – lifting or dancing.

“Sometimes you just have to put on your BIG GIRL PANTIES and just do it”

Leave a Reply

